Off season paddling

A few paddlers from the club wanted to continue training through the off season so they could stay in shape and work on paddling technique. I joined them for the first time last Wednesday and counting me only four showed up. It was nice to be on the water and the session was a good one for me. I’m definitely not as fit as I was in July the combination of going on a trip in August and then continuing to miss practices in September took away the strength and endurance I built up during the early summer. I just hope we can keep these practices going through the end of the year. Last Friday only three of  us showed and we didn’t go out because our steersman didn’t show up. I gotta say that eroded my commitment and enthusiasm a little. I was apprehensive driving down to the club site today and my gut feeling was right only three of us showed again. I was afraid we were gonna call off the practice because none of us know how to steer. However one of the senior paddlers told us to take out the four man canoe and the three of us take turns steering. It turned out to be a good practice I cannot steer a lick but at least the other two guys can … somewhat. It was fun to be on the water and I got to try the one seat I had not paddled yet. This afternoon’s session has me looking forward to Wednesday’s practice I’m just hoping enough guys show up to fill a boat, any boat.

Published by

dionyb

I paddle, read comics and occasionally post photos of my travels with family.

Leave a Reply

