I’m a comic guy through and through

My 14 and 16 year old went to a lecture of PIXAR creator/execs on Wednesday night at their school. It was disheartening to hear that the standing room only audience consisted of mostly adults. My kids told me there were some elementary and middle school kids along with a handful of high schoolers but even combined they were still fewer compared to the adults. I know that comics have been written for an older audience for a couple of decades now and the material being produced currently, in my observation as a YA librarian, is not attracting younger readers. My heyday of collecting was in the early 80s and I stopped buying comics right before Crisis on Infinite Earths. I would occasionally read the odd trade if I came across one at my university’s library and then I started to follow more regularly when I began working in the library system. I enjoy reading the older material, especially stories from the 70s and 80s, they range from goofy makes no sense whatsoever to great entertaining reads that make me want to learn more about the heroes. I don’t sense that fun or escapism from current comics that are trying so hard to be serious and mature. What’s funny is I get that goofy escapism from DC’s TV shows like the Flash and Supergirl although I haven’t watched many shows of either series yet. Hopefully there is a kid following these shows and  he or she gets that same itch I once had and begins to search for the source material of these programs. How great would that be.

Published by

dionyb

I paddle, read comics and occasionally post photos of my travels with family.

Leave a Reply

